All Animoto Plans & Pricing

Plan Monthly Annual Best For
Free Not specified
Basic Not specified
Professional Not specified
Professional Plus Not specified
Contact us Contact Sales Contact Sales Not specified
View all features by plan (compare side-by-side)

Free

Basic

Professional

Professional Plus

Contact us

Pricing Alerts

Track Animoto pricing

Get an email when Animoto's pricing changes — plus the weekly SaaS Price Watch: verified price changes and deals across 3,000+ products. One-click unsubscribe.

Compare Animoto with alternativesAdjust seats, lock a tier, add up to 2 more products side-by-side. Shareable URL.
Cost calculator

What does Animoto actually cost you?

Drag the slider. Pick a tier. Your projected spend updates as you go.

Tier
Billing
Your projected cost$475per month · $19/unit × 25units
Year 1 license$5.7K12 months at this rate
At a glance

List price by tier (annualized, per unit)

Per-unit list price across Animoto's plans, annualized. Custom-priced tiers show a hatched bar.

FreeCustom
Basic$228/yr
Professional$348/yr
Professional Plus$948/yr
Contact usCustom
Quick Answer
Last verified:
High confidence

Animoto costs Free to $79 per month as of September 2026, with 5 plans available including a free tier. Plans: Free (free), Basic at $19/month, Professional at $29/month, and Professional Plus at $79/month. Custom pricing is available on request. Pricing depends on your chosen tier, contract length, and negotiated discounts.

Use the interactive pricing calculator to estimate your exact cost based on team size and requirements.

  • Free tier: Yes

Animoto offers 5 pricing tiers: Free, Basic, Professional, Professional Plus, Contact us. A free plan is available. Paid plans include Basic at $19/month, Professional at $29/month, Professional Plus at $79/month.

Compared to other video editing software, Animoto is positioned at the budget-friendly price point.

  • 10 documented hidden costs beyond list price
  • Contracts auto-renew — Not disclosed in advance; cancellation option buried in account settings

How much does Animoto cost?

Animoto offers 5 pricing plans, starting with a free tier and scaling to custom enterprise pricing. Plans include Free (free), Basic at $19/month, Professional at $29/month, Professional Plus at $79/month, Contact us (custom pricing).

Animoto Pricing Overview

Animoto has 5 pricing plans, including a free tier. Paid plans range from $0 to $79/month. The Free plan is free. The Basic plan costs $19/month. The Professional plan costs $29/month. The Professional Plus plan costs $79/month. The Contact us plan requires contacting sales for a custom quote.

Animoto contracts auto-renew, with a Monthly or annual minimum commitment, and annual price increases of No published schedule.

There are at least 10 documented hidden costs beyond Animoto's list price, including implementation, training, and add-on fees.

This pricing was last verified in September 9, 2026 from 1 independent source.

Animoto pricing starts at $0 for the Free plan, with paid plans ranging from $9/month (Basic, billed annually) to $39/month (Professional Plus, billed annually). Month-to-month billing is available at $19–$79/month for the same tiers. Enterprise pricing is available by contacting Animoto directly.

How Animoto Pricing Compares

Compare Animoto pricing against top alternatives in Video Editing.

Compare Animoto vs Alternatives

Before committing to Animoto, compare pricing with these 3 alternatives in the same category.

All Animoto alternatives & migration guides

What Companies Actually Pay for Animoto

Review scores
TrustRadius 8.7out of 10 (16)
Trustpilot 1.6out of 5 (23)
Third-party review aggregates, as of Aug 2026
Top pricing complaints
Auto-renewal charges with no advance notificationRefusal to issue refunds for disputed or unused subscription chargesNo live customer support — only AI bot responsesPersonal data reportedly found on dark web

Animoto Year 1 Total Cost by Company Size

Real deployment costs including licenses, implementation, training, and admin — not just the sticker price.

Casual Individual — Annual Basic Plan $108 Year 1 total
$9/month × 12
Total $108

Individual making occasional marketing or personal videos, billed annually on the Basic plan

Small Business — Annual Professional Plan $228 Year 1 total
$19/month × 12
Total $228

Small business or solo marketer needing professional features billed annually on the Professional plan

Agency or Power User — Annual Professional Plus Plan $468 Year 1 total
$39/month × 12
Total $468

Agency or high-volume user needing maximum features, billed annually on Professional Plus

Flexible Month-to-Month — Professional Plan $348 Year 1 total
$29/month × 12
Total $348

User who prefers monthly billing flexibility on the Professional plan, paying a premium over the annual rate

Current tier data

How Animoto Pricing Compares

Software Starting Price Top Price
Animoto Free $79/month
Adobe Premiere Pro $19.99/month $34.49/month
CapCut Free $19.99/month
Microsoft Clipchamp Free $11.99/month
DaVinci Resolve Free $295/month
Filmora Free $99.99/year

10 Animoto Hidden Costs Beyond the List Price

Beyond the listed price, Animoto has at least 10 documented hidden costs that can significantly increase total cost of ownership.

Watch for 10 hidden costs
  • Watermark & Quality Limits
    high 1 source
    industry "To remove the watermark and access higher quality (1080p or 4K), users must upgrade to a paid plan"
  • Premium Asset Access
    medium 1 source
    industry "Premium assets, such as a larger library of licensed music tracks and Getty Images stock photos and videos, are also locked behind more expensive plans"
  • Exceeding Storage Limits
    medium 1 source
    industry "While Animoto states that implementation costs are not applicable as it is a self-service platform, potential additional costs could arise from exceeding video storage limits or requiring features not included in the chosen plan"
  • Feature Upgrades
    medium 1 source
    industry "While Animoto states that implementation costs are not applicable as it is a self-service platform, potential additional costs could arise from exceeding video storage limits or requiring features not included in the chosen plan"
  • Additional User Seats
    medium 1 source
    industry "The Professional Plus plan, designed for teams, allows for the purchase of additional user seats beyond the three included, though the per-seat price is not publicly disclosed and is shown only in-product"
  • Auto-Renewal Without Pre-Renewal Notification $108-$948
    critical 8 sources
    Trustpilot "I signed up for Animoto in July 2023 and used it once. From August 2023 they charged my credit card every single month for 34 consecutive months without sending a single receipt, invoice, or billing notification."
    Trustpilot "Signed up for what I thought was a one-time project. Severall months later, got hit with an auto-renewal charge with no warning email beforehand. The cancellation process is buried in settings, and getting a refund required multiple support emails."
    Trustpilot "I signed up in August 2024 for a month trial -just to discover more than a year later that I was charged till now!! No notice or anything (which is illegal since 2024! ) and no refund!"
    Trustpilot "Be sure and DO NOT auto renew. I think I responded to a brief trial. One year later, I was surprised by a $241 renewal charge to my account. I did not open or access the service at all. I sought a refund."
    Trustpilot "Horrible Customer Service. They have an auto renew scam, where they charge you again on the one year anniversary. When the charge came up on the auto renewal date, I asked them to reverse as I only used it once and will not use it again."
  • No Refund on Disputed or Unused Subscription Charges 50-100% of license costs
    high 4 sources
    Trustpilot "I was charged $192 Canadian for this "product" that I didn't ever order. They claim I subscribed via auto pay. The same day they charged me, I emailed them to advice that I did not authorize this and request a refund."
    Trustpilot "Support admitted the charges but refused a full refund."
    Trustpilot "DO NOT give them a license to steal your hard earned money by giving them your credit card information. Even if you believe it to be setup on a yearly manual renewal. They will auto-bill whether they you authorize them or not."
  • Billing Errors — Monthly Charges Continue After Annual Payment $108-$228
    high 1 source
    Trustpilot "Paid eighty-nine ninety-nine for a full year's Super plan in January, but they kept charging eleven ninety-nine monthly anyway-nine months straight. Emailed owner Francesco multiple times; first he said oh I don't see that, then total silence."
  • Applying Promo Codes Can Trigger Immediate Charge and Forfeit Existing Promotion 5-15% of license costs
    medium 1 source
    Trustpilot "Instead, Animoto charged my PayPal immediately without any confirmation prompt. It appears they retained my PayPal details from years ago and processed the payment automatically."
  • Personal Data Security — User Data Reported on Dark Web 5-15% of license costs
    medium 2 sources
    Trustpilot "I used this service one time in the past (10 years ago) but in this time I got 2 times information from google that my personal data was found on the Dark Web and stolen from Animoto!"
    Trustpilot "Unsure how but someone created an account with my details and they end up with in dark web. Be aware!"
Tip

Ask your Animoto sales rep about these costs upfront. Getting them in writing before signing can save you from surprise charges later.

Full hidden costs breakdown →

Intelligence sourced from 3 independent sources
industry Trustpilot Consumer reviews TrustRadius Enterprise reviews
Key claims include inline source attribution. Data verified against multiple independent sources. 30 source citations total.

Animoto Contract Terms

Animoto contracts auto-renew. Changes require Not disclosed in advance; cancellation option buried in account settings. These terms are sourced from verified buyer experiences.

Contract Terms
Auto-Renewal Yes
Cancellation Notice Not disclosed in advance; cancellation option buried in account settings
Minimum Commitment Monthly or annual
Mid-Term Downgrade Not allowed
Payment Terms Monthly or annual upfront; credit card and PayPal supported
Price Escalation No published schedule
Note

No source data available on downgrade process

Based on 3 verified sources

How to Negotiate Animoto Pricing

Animoto contracts are negotiable. These 10 tactics are sourced from real buyer experiences and procurement specialists.

Negotiation Playbook 10 tactics
Feature Review high success

Carefully review the chosen plan's features to avoid needing unbudgeted upgrades later.

https://itqlick.com
Set Renewal Reminders high success

Set calendar reminders for renewal dates if opting for a monthly plan or if they anticipate not needing the service for the full annual term.

https://themarketingagency.ca
Proactive Auto-renewal Cancellation high success

Proactively turn off auto-renewal if they only intend to use the service for a limited period or wish to re-evaluate their subscription before it renews.

https://animoto.com
Record Cancellation Requests high success

Keep thorough records of any cancellation requests.

https://themarketingagency.ca
Leverage Annual Savings high success

Be aware of the significant savings offered by annual plans (up to 50% compared to monthly billing) as a point of leverage for long-term commitment.

https://animoto.com
Inquire About Discounts high success

Inquire about discounted plans offered for registered non-profits, teachers, and schools.

https://animoto.com
Commit to Annual Billing for Maximum Savings high success

Annual billing delivers 47–51% savings over month-to-month rates. Basic drops from $19/month to $9/month, Professional from $29 to $19, and Professional Plus from $79 to $39. Only commit annually if you are certain about usage — refunds are almost never issued, so a mid-year cancellation means losing the remainder.

Current tier data
Set a Calendar Reminder 30 Days Before Renewal high success

Animoto does not send renewal reminders. Set a personal calendar alert 30 days before your billing anniversary. This gives time to cancel, downgrade, or shop alternatives before an auto-renewal charge lands. The cancellation option is buried in account settings — locate it before you need it.

trustpilot
Apply Promo Codes Only at Initial Sign-Up medium success

Promo codes are occasionally available, but applying one to an existing active subscription can trigger an immediate charge without a confirmation step and void any current promotional period. Apply promo codes only when starting a brand-new subscription, never mid-term.

trustpilot
Remove Stored Payment Credentials After Purchase medium success

Animoto retains payment credentials (including PayPal) between sessions and billing cycles. Users report charges processed years after initial sign-up using stale stored credentials. Remove or update payment methods after each transaction to prevent unauthorized future charges.

trustpilot

Full negotiation guide →

Animoto Pricing FAQ

01 What is the cheapest paid plan?

The Basic plan is the cheapest paid plan, costing $19.0 per month.

02 What are the annual pricing options?

The Basic plan is $9.0 per month when billed annually. The Professional plan is $19.0 per month when billed annually. The Professional Plus plan is $39.0 per month when billed annually.

03 Is there a free plan available?

Yes, Animoto offers a Free plan at $0.0 per month.

04 Does Animoto auto-renew subscriptions without notice?

Yes. Animoto subscriptions auto-renew by default, and multiple users report receiving no advance notification email before renewal. The cancellation option is buried in account settings. Set a personal calendar reminder well before your renewal date — Animoto will not remind you, and refunds after renewal are rarely granted.

05 Can I get a refund if I forgot to cancel before auto-renewal?

Refunds are very difficult to obtain. Animoto support typically refuses full refunds even for users who claim non-usage or an unauthorized charge. Some users report being offered a 50% refund at best. Disputing the charge through your bank or PayPal is the most commonly reported recourse, with mixed outcomes.

06 What does the Animoto Free plan include?

Animoto offers a free plan, but it carries significant limitations: videos include Animoto advertising, the music library is severely restricted (approximately 2 songs reported), and creative options are limited. To access ad-free exports, a full music library, and custom branding, you need at least the Basic plan at $9/month (billed annually).

07 Does Animoto support 4K video export?

Based on user-reported experience, Animoto's maximum export resolution is 1080p. 4K (2160p) export does not appear to be currently supported on any plan tier.

08 How much does Animoto cost per year on each plan?

Billed annually, Animoto costs $108/year for Basic ($9/month), $228/year for Professional ($19/month), and $468/year for Professional Plus ($39/month). Month-to-month rates are $19, $29, and $79 respectively. Enterprise pricing requires contacting Animoto directly.

09 Is it safe to store payment credentials with Animoto?

Exercise caution. Users report that Animoto retains payment credentials (including PayPal) across sessions and billing cycles, sometimes for years, and charges them automatically at renewal or when applying promo codes — without a confirmation prompt. Additionally, multiple users report personal data associated with Animoto accounts appearing on the dark web.

Is this pricing incorrect? — we'll verify and update it.