Runway Pricing 2026
Complete pricing guide with plans, hidden costs, and cost analysis
Runway has a free plan. Paid plans start at $12/user/month (Standard) and go up to $76/user/month.
Are you Runway? Claim this profile
Is Runway a fit?
Derived from this product's own pricing and contract record — not a review.
Best for
- Individuals exploring Runway's AI tools
- Curious creators trying AI video
- Creators leveling up their craft
- Heavy usage / power users
Not a fit if
- The sticker price is your whole budget — Monthly Credit Expiration (and 6 more).
All Runway Plans & Pricing
| Plan | Monthly | Annual | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | Individuals exploring Runway's AI tools |
| Verified pricing · last checked July 2026 · 3 sources
Get this price at Runway →
| |||
| What's included at Free Best for: Individuals exploring Runway's AI tools
| |||
| Standard | $12 /user/month | $144 /user/year | Curious creators trying AI video |
| Verified pricing · last checked July 2026 · 3 sources
Get this price at Runway →
| |||
| What's included at Standard Best for: Curious creators trying AI video
| |||
| Pro | $28 /user/month | $336 /user/year | Creators leveling up their craft |
| Verified pricing · last checked July 2026 · 3 sources
Get this price at Runway →
| |||
| What's included at Pro Best for: Creators leveling up their craft
| |||
| Max | $76 /user/month | $912 /user/year | Heavy usage / power users |
| Verified pricing · last checked July 2026 · 3 sources
Get this price at Runway →
| |||
| What's included at Max Best for: Heavy usage / power users
| |||
| Enterprise | Contact Sales | Contact Sales | Teams scaling AI video production |
| Verified pricing · last checked July 2026 · 3 sources
Get this price at Runway →
| |||
| What's included at Enterprise Best for: Teams scaling AI video production
| |||
View all features by plan (compare side-by-side)
Free
- 125 credits (one-time)
- Gen-4 Turbo (Image to Video)
- Gen-4 (Text to Image, References)
- 3 video editor projects
- 5GB asset storage
Standard
- 625 credits/month
- All AI image and video models (Gen-4.5, Nano Banana Pro, Aleph, Veo 3.1)
- 4K Upscaling
- No watermarks
Pro
- Everything in Standard
- 2250 credits/month
- Custom Voices for Lip Sync and Text to Speech
- 500GB asset storage
Max
- Everything in Pro
- 9500 credits/month
- Roll over unused credits for 1 month
- First access to newest models
- Highest generation volume
Enterprise
- Everything in Max
- Custom credits
- Single sign-on
- Workspace Analytics
- Configurable teamspaces
- Priority support
Track Runway pricing
Get an email when Runway's pricing changes — plus the weekly SaaS Price Watch: verified price changes and deals across 3,000+ products. One-click unsubscribe.
You're on the list — first digest lands Tuesday.
What does Runway actually cost you?
Drag the slider. Pick a tier. Your projected spend updates as you go.
List price by tier (annualized, per seat)
Per-seat list price across Runway's plans, annualized. Custom-priced tiers show a hatched bar.
Runway costs Free to $76 per user/month as of September 2026, with 5 plans available including a free tier. Plans: Free (free), Standard at $12/user/month, Pro at $28/user/month, and Max at $76/user/month. Custom pricing is available on request. Pricing depends on your chosen tier, contract length, and negotiated discounts.
Use the interactive pricing calculator to estimate your exact cost based on team size and requirements.
- Free tier: Yes
Runway offers 5 pricing tiers: Free, Standard, Pro, Max, Enterprise. A free plan is available. Paid plans include Standard at $12/user/month, Pro at $28/user/month, Max at $76/user/month. The Standard plan is curious creators trying ai video.
Compared to other ai video generators software, Runway is positioned at the budget-friendly price point.
- 26 documented hidden costs beyond list price
- Contracts auto-renew — Not publicly disclosed; users report difficulty cancelling and ongoing charges after believed cancellation
How much does Runway cost?
Runway Pricing Overview
Runway has 5 pricing plans, including a free tier. Paid plans range from $0 to $76/user/month. The Free plan is free and is best for individuals exploring runway's ai tools. The Standard plan costs $12/user/month, best for curious creators trying ai video. The Pro plan costs $28/user/month, best for creators leveling up their craft. The Max plan costs $76/user/month, best for heavy usage / power users. The Enterprise plan requires contacting sales for a custom quote and is designed for teams scaling ai video production.
Runway contracts auto-renew, with a Monthly or annual minimum commitment.
There are at least 26 documented hidden costs beyond Runway's list price, including implementation, training, and add-on fees.
This pricing was last verified in July 9, 2026 from 3 independent sources.
Runway pricing ranges from free to $76/user/month for consumer subscriptions in 2026. There are five consumer tiers: Free (125 one-time credits), Standard ($12/user/month), Pro ($28/user/month), Unlimited ($76/user/month), and Enterprise (custom). For developers accessing the API, Runway uses pay-as-you-go credit pricing: $0.01/credit, Gen-3 Turbo and Gen-4 Turbo at $0.05/second, Gen-4.5 at $0.12/second. Verified from Runway's pricing page, April 2026.
Runway is an AI-powered creative platform for video generation and editing. Consumer subscribers use it for AI video generation through a web app with monthly credit allowances. Developers and enterprises access the same generation models through a separate pay-per-use API. The two pricing models serve distinct use cases: subscription plans for individual creators and teams; API credits for software integrations and high-volume workflows.
How Runway Pricing Compares
Compare Runway pricing against top alternatives in AI Video Generators.
Compare Runway vs Alternatives
Before committing to Runway, compare pricing with these 3 alternatives in the same category.
What Companies Actually Pay for Runway
Runway Year 1 Total Cost by Company Size
Real deployment costs including licenses, implementation, training, and admin — not just the sticker price.
A YouTuber or social media creator adding AI video
Someone exploring AI video generation
A video production company using AI extensively
A solo content creator or freelancer on the Pro plan billed monthly, with full credit risk each cycle.
A professional video producer on the Unlimited plan billed annually. Note: the Unlimited plan includes a reported 2,250-credit monthly cap.
A media company or creative agency purchasing Runway via a negotiated enterprise contract through procurement channels.
Enterprise buyer purchasing through procurement/Vendr channel
Professional team or agency using Runway Max plan billed annually for high-volume video generation needs.
Large organizations with custom needs, based on Vendr data showing median enterprise buyer pays $53,000/year.
Single user requiring higher credit volume for intensive or commercial video production on the Max plan.
Enterprise contract as reported by Vendr deal flow. Sample size is undisclosed, so treat as directional only. The Vendr-reported low end ($64,000) exceeds the stated median ($53,000), suggesting limited or skewed deal data.
Individual creator on the Standard plan attempting to produce short commercial or social media clips. Review patterns indicate monthly credits are typically exhausted within a single project, requiring additional credit purchases.
Professional user on the Pro plan iterating on a single commercial video. User reports indicate credit consumption significantly exceeds one month's allocation when iterating on a single project.
How Runway Pricing Compares
| Software | Starting Price | Top Price |
|---|---|---|
| Runway | Free | $76/user/month |
| Captions | Free | $69.99/month |
| Colossyan | Free | $59/month |
| D-ID | Free | $108/month |
| Descript | Free | $65/month |
| Google Veo | Free | $99.99/month |
Detailed pricing comparisons:
Runway Contract Terms
Runway contracts auto-renew. Changes require Not publicly disclosed; users report difficulty cancelling and ongoing charges after believed cancellation. These terms are sourced from verified buyer experiences.
Not confirmed from available source data
How to Negotiate Runway Pricing
Runway contracts are negotiable. These 13 tactics are sourced from real buyer experiences and procurement specialists.
Users who prepaid annually report being trapped in non-functional subscriptions with no refund path. Test the platform on a monthly plan for two to three billing cycles before agreeing to annual billing. Validate generation quality and credit consumption against your actual production volume before locking in.
Trustpilot reviewsRunway's tutorial and promotional outputs do not reliably reflect real-world results. Before purchasing credits in bulk or upgrading plans, test your exact use case — particularly character consistency or complex scene generation — with minimum credits to validate the output meets your needs.
Trustpilot reviewsIf committing to annual billing, explicitly negotiate the terms upfront and confirm billing cycle in writing. Multiple users have been accidentally billed annually; clarifying this at contract signing gives you documentation for disputes.
Trustpilot user reportsEnterprise buyers have obtained a 15% discount by agreeing to a co-marketing partnership with Runway. This typically involves commitments such as case studies, testimonials, or joint promotional content. Propose this arrangement at the start of negotiations rather than after pricing is locked.
Vendr community insightRequest an Order Form clause that grants the right to cancel if Runway cannot integrate with a critical tool in your tech stack. At least one buyer successfully added this clause, providing a contractual exit without penalty if the integration fails.
Vendr community insightNegotiate a cancellation clause in enterprise Order Forms tied to specific integration requirements (e.g., ability to cancel if Runway cannot integrate with a key tool in your stack). This was successfully negotiated by at least one Vendr buyer.
Vendr community insightFor enterprise deals, committing to a defined usage volume or multi-year term may unlock discounts beyond the standard plan pricing. Vendr data shows enterprise median of $53,000/year, suggesting pricing flexibility exists above consumer tiers.
Vendr pricing summaryWhen negotiating enterprise contracts, push for integration clauses that allow cancellation if Runway cannot integrate with your existing tech stack (e.g., monitoring tools, APIs). One buyer included a clause allowing cancellation if Runway couldn't integrate with New Relic.
Vendr community insightNegotiate a contractual right to cancel if Runway cannot integrate with a required tool in your stack (e.g., a specific analytics or monitoring platform). This creates a structured exit option without forfeiting prepaid amounts if the platform fails to meet your technical requirements.
Vendr community insightBot-only support is a documented issue on all standard plans. When negotiating Enterprise, explicitly include human support response-time guarantees and escalation paths in the contract. Standard plan users consistently report being unable to reach any human agent even for billing disputes and technical failures.
Trustpilot user reviewsGiven the significant disconnect between marketing claims and actual AI output quality reported by users, push for a short paid pilot (one to two months) before committing to an annual contract. Use the pilot to verify the platform performs acceptably for your specific content type and prompt style.
Trustpilot user patternsNegotiate for unused credits to roll over month-to-month, or for automatic credit restoration when generations fail due to documented platform bugs. This directly addresses the most common cost complaint: credits consumed by AI errors that the user did not cause.
Trustpilot user reviewsGiven the high volume of complaints about non-refundable credits consumed by platform errors, negotiate explicit credit rollover rights or a quality-failure credit reissuance policy before committing. Get this in writing in the Order Form, not just verbal assurance from sales.
Trustpilot user patternsRunway Price History
Pricing changes CostBench has tracked for Runway, verified across 4 snapshots going back to 2026Q1.
-
Runway tier renamed
"Unlimited" renamed to "Max"
-
Runway price decrease
Highest tier decreased from $95 to $76/month
-20%
Price decreased 20% over 0.3 years
View Runway's full price history →
Runway Pricing FAQ
01 How much does Runway cost?
Runway pricing: Free (125 one-time credits), Standard $15/month (625 credits), Pro $35/month (2,250 credits), Unlimited $95/month (unlimited Turbo). Annual billing saves ~20%. Enterprise has custom pricing. Verified by Costbench from 4 independent sources, March 2026.
02 Is Runway free?
Runway offers 125 free credits (one-time, not recurring). This creates roughly 5-10 short videos to try the platform. For ongoing use, paid plans start at $15/month. Free exports have watermarks at 720p.
03 What is Runway Gen-3 Alpha?
Gen-3 Alpha is Runway's latest AI video model, producing highly realistic motion and consistent characters. It generates 5-10 second clips from text or images. Gen-3 represents a major quality leap over Gen-2.
04 How many videos can I make with Runway credits?
Rough estimates: 625 credits (Standard) = ~25-50 short videos. 2,250 credits (Pro) = ~90-180 videos. Credits vary by model, length, and quality. Gen-3 uses more credits than Turbo mode.
05 Runway vs Sora: Which is better?
Sora (OpenAI) produces longer, higher-quality videos but has limited access. Runway is available now with proven quality. Runway is the current industry standard; Sora may surpass it but availability is restricted.
06 What is Gen-3 Alpha Turbo?
Gen-3 Alpha Turbo is a faster, more efficient version of Gen-3. It uses fewer credits and generates faster. Unlimited plan includes unlimited Turbo. Non-Turbo Gen-3 uses more credits but may have quality benefits.
07 Can I use Runway videos commercially?
Yes, paid Runway plans include commercial rights to generated videos. You own the output for use in ads, films, and other commercial projects. Free tier has restrictions.
08 What video length can Runway generate?
Runway Gen-3 generates 5-10 second clips by default. You can extend videos by generating more clips and editing them together. Longer single generations require more credits.
09 Is Runway Unlimited worth $95/month?
Runway Unlimited is worth it for high-volume creators making many videos daily. If you consistently use 2,000+ credits, Unlimited saves money. Most users find Pro sufficient.
10 Does Runway have an API?
Yes, Runway offers API access for Enterprise customers. Pricing is based on usage. The API allows integrating Runway's video generation into custom applications and workflows.
11 What is image-to-video in Runway?
Image-to-video animates a still image into motion video. Upload a photo and Runway brings it to life. This is popular for creating dynamic content from existing assets.
12 How does Runway compare to competitors?
Runway Gen-3 is currently the quality leader for general AI video. Pika and Luma are more affordable alternatives. Synthesia excels at AI avatars. Runway is best for realistic motion and effects.
13 Is Runway's Unlimited plan actually unlimited?
No. Despite the name, the Unlimited plan ($76/month) operates on a reported 2,250-credit monthly cap. Multiple users report this allocation is exhausted within hours or days of professional use, particularly when correcting AI-generated errors or running multiple generations for a single project. Additional credits must be purchased once the cap is reached.
14 Does Runway offer a free plan?
Runway lists a Free tier at $0, but user reports consistently indicate that free accounts receive no meaningful generation credits — making it impossible to create content without purchasing a paid plan. Multiple users report signing up expecting a functional free tier and finding they cannot generate anything.
15 What happens to unused Runway credits at the end of the month?
Unused credits expire at the end of each monthly billing cycle and do not roll over. If your production schedule is delayed or you don't use all your credits, those credits are permanently forfeited.
16 Can I get a refund if Runway's output quality doesn't meet my needs?
Users consistently report that Runway does not issue refunds for consumed credits, even when those credits were depleted by AI-generated errors or failed generations. The automated support chatbot handles all disputes and has been reported as unresponsive to refund requests. Annual plan buyers have reported being unable to recover prepayments after experiencing persistent service quality issues.
17 What is the typical enterprise cost for Runway?
Based on Vendr deal flow data, enterprise buyers pay a median of $53,000 per year for Runway. Enterprise contracts can include negotiated terms such as integration cancellation clauses and co-marketing discounts.
18 What happens if my video generation fails or produces unusable output — do I get credits back?
Based on user reports, credits are generally not refunded for failed or poor-quality generations unless the video explicitly errors out. Videos that get stuck at 0% processing may not qualify for automatic refunds either. Runway's policy requires videos to show an explicit error status for credit restoration — stuck generations in a non-error state may consume credits without recourse. Contact support to dispute specific cases.
19 Can my account be suspended for using the Unlimited plan heavily?
Multiple users report account suspensions on the Unlimited plan when usage was deemed excessive, despite no explicit usage caps being disclosed at signup. Runway appears to enforce undisclosed usage thresholds on 'Unlimited' plans. If you anticipate very high generation volume, contact Runway before subscribing to confirm acceptable usage levels.
20 What are the current Runway pricing plans?
Runway offers five plans: Free ($0/month), Standard ($12/month or $144/year), Pro ($28/month or $336/year), Unlimited ($76/month or $912/year), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Annual billing on paid plans is equivalent to paying for roughly 12 months upfront.
21 What happens to my credits if a video generation fails on Runway?
Based on user reports, Runway typically does not automatically refund credits when a video gets stuck or produces unusable output. Credits are consumed when a generation is attempted, and refunds are only issued in specific circumstances (such as when a video explicitly errors out). Users report losing hundreds of credits to failed or glitched generations with no recourse. Always check Runway's current refund policy before purchasing credits.
22 What is the difference between Runway's Standard, Pro, and Max plans?
Runway offers three paid tiers: Standard at $12/month (or $144/year), Pro at $28/month (or $336/year), and Max at $76/month (or $912/year). Higher tiers provide more generation credits and access to more advanced features. Enterprise pricing is custom-quoted. All plans include a credit-based system where each video generation consumes credits based on length and quality settings.
23 Can I cancel Runway and get a refund?
Multiple users report significant difficulty obtaining refunds from Runway, even in cases where they were accidentally billed annually instead of monthly. Support response times are frequently reported as extremely slow or non-existent. Before subscribing, particularly to annual plans, be aware that Runway's refund policy appears to be strictly applied and refunds are difficult to obtain.
24 Can I try Runway for free before paying?
Runway offers a Free plan, but multiple users report that the free generation credits cannot be used without an active paid subscription. To actually test video generation, you will need to subscribe to at least the Standard plan at $12/month.
25 How many videos can I generate per month on the Pro plan?
The Pro plan costs $28/month and includes a credit allocation, but the number of usable videos varies by length and complexity. User reports indicate a 15-second video consumes approximately 500 credits per attempt, and a single 1-minute generation can exhaust an entire month's allocation. Because the AI frequently requires multiple attempts to follow instructions, the effective output per month can be substantially lower than the raw credit count suggests.
26 Does Runway refund credits for failed generations?
Based on user reports, Runway does not refund credits consumed by failed or incorrect generations, even when the failure is due to platform bugs or AI errors. Support is bot-driven and multiple users report being denied refunds after providing clear evidence of system errors.
27 Can Runway maintain consistent characters across multiple video scenes?
Based on user reports, character consistency across scenes is a significant weakness. Multiple reviewers describe Runway frequently substituting incorrect characters, removing characters from multi-person scenes, or ignoring reference images provided for continuity — with each incorrect attempt consuming additional paid credits.
28 What happens when I run out of credits on my Runway plan?
When your monthly credits are exhausted, all generation stops until you purchase additional credits or your plan renews the following month. Multiple users report credits running out unexpectedly quickly — sometimes within a single session — particularly when the platform selects heavier generation models than requested or when retrying failed outputs.
29 Does Runway offer refunds if the AI fails to produce usable results?
Runway's policy is that completed generations are non-refundable, regardless of output quality or whether the AI followed your instructions. Customer support has declined both full and partial refund requests even when users report the platform failed due to platform errors or bugs. If you experience a billing error (charged incorrectly), users report needing to dispute the charge through their bank.
30 Does Runway still offer an unlimited generation plan?
No. Runway has discontinued its unlimited generation plans and migrated all users to a credit-based system. Current plans are Free (limited credits), Standard ($12/month), Pro ($28/month), Max ($76/month), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each paid plan includes a fixed monthly credit allocation.
31 Can I cancel my Runway subscription at any time?
Runway's cancellation policy is not clearly disclosed publicly. Multiple users report being charged after changing or cancelling their subscription, requiring credit card disputes to resolve. For enterprise contracts, buyers have negotiated explicit cancellation clauses in Order Forms tied to integration milestones.
32 Do unused Runway credits roll over each month?
Based on user reviews, monthly credits do not roll over — they reset at the start of each billing cycle. Multiple users report exhausting their full monthly allocation within hours of a single project attempt, with no carryover of unused credits to the following month.
33 Is Runway's Free plan enough to evaluate the platform?
Most users report that free credits are exhausted after a very small number of generation attempts — often before completing a meaningful evaluation of the platform's quality for their specific use case. The Free plan is suitable only for a single exploratory generation, not a real project evaluation.
34 Can features change after I purchase a Runway subscription?
Yes. At least one verified Max subscriber reported that a feature available at time of purchase — custom voice creation — was moved to a higher-tier Team plan during their active subscription period without notice. Feature access is not guaranteed to remain constant within a billing cycle.
Is this pricing incorrect? — we'll verify and update it.